Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Further Phoenix
at Rio's Attic:

Florida

Music Hobby

A Night in the Life of Jimmy Reardon

Gainesville

Aleka's Attic

Aleka Dozy Encircles

Chris Blackwell
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of River Phoenix
Seite 1
American EnglishEn FrançaisGerman

"Musik ist ein Hobby, weil ich kein Gewinn dadurch mache, ich aber genau soviel hineinstecke wie beim Schauspielern."

- River Phoenix

Es scheint so, dass wenn River keinen Gefallen mehr in Filmen, Berühmtheit oder Show Business fand, er glücklich als Musiker war. "Musik ist eine Oase in meinem Kopf," sagte er. "Der Prozess des Kreirens ist so persönlich und erfüllend."

River schrieb einen Song während der Dreharbeiten zu A Night in the Life of Jimmy Reardon das die Aufmerksamkeit von Chris Blackwell, Leitender der Firma Island Records, errregte und ihm ein "Entwicklungsdeal" anbot. "Ich war Chris Blackwell's sog. Haustierprojekt," sagte River. "Es ist ein Vertrag mit einem offenen Ende und läuft absolut um die Karriere, die ich mit meinen Filmen aufgebaut habe. Chris hat sehr viel Geduld und ist froh, dass man es einfach weiterlaufen lassen kann und zu sehen, in was es sich verwandelt."

Aleka's Attic
River Phoenix oben mitte
Rain Phoenix oben rechts

Als die Phoenix Familie nach Gainsville, Florida zogen, fand River Freunde, die seine Liebe zu der Rockmusik teilten. Zusammen spielten sie ganze Nächte über durch und gründeten bald eine Band mit dem Namen Aleka's Attic. River selbst hatte sich den Namen ausgedacht. "Aleka ist ein Gedichtsphilosoph," sagte er. "Und The Attic (deut. Boden) ist ein Treffpunkt wo er lebt und er einen geheimen Verbund hat. Sie kommen und besuchen ihn und lesen seine Werke. Dann stirbt er, und sie treffen sich von nun an unregelmäßig wieder und fahren fort, seine Werke zu lesen; davon lernen sie alleine und werden erfüllt mit dieser neuen Passion für das Leben. Sie erleben sie durch Musik und formen eine Band. Wir haben es in ein Märchen verpackt." Der erste Song der Band, Aleka Dozy Encircles, erzählt dieses Märchen.


Nächste Seite
Rio's Attic Home Page

Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Further Phoenix
at Rio's Attic:

Florida

Music Hobby

A Night in the Life of Jimmy Reardon

Gainesville

Aleka's Attic

Aleka Dozy Encircles

Chris Blackwell
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of a Dearly Missed River Phoenix
Page One
American EnglishEn FrançaisGerman

"Music is a hobby, because I'm not making any money out of it, but I put just as much conviction into that as I do into my acting."

- River Phoenix

It seems that whilst River found no pleasure in movies, fame or show business, he did find happiness as a musician. "Music is a whole oasis in my head," he said. "The creation process is so personal and fulfilling."

River wrote a song during the making of A Night in the Life of Jimmy Reardon that got the attention of Chris Blackwell, head of Island Records who offered him a development deal. "I was Chris Blackwell's pet project," said River. "It's an open-ended contract and works entirely around the career in films I've established. Chris is very patient and is happy to let it brew away and see what it turns into."

Aleka's Attic
River Phoenix top center
Rain Phoenix top right

When the Phoenix family moved to Gainesville, Florida, River found friends who shared his love of rock music. They would play all-night sessions together and soon formed a band called Aleka's Attic. River himself thought of the name. "Aleka is a poet philosopher," he said. "The Attic is a meeting place where he lives and he has a secret society. They come and visit him and read his works. He then dies and they meet irregularly and continue the readings of his works, and from that learn their own, and become filled with this new passion for life. And they express it through music and form a band. We've put it in a fairytale setting." The band's first song, Aleka Dozy Encircles, tells this fairytale.


Next Page
Rio's Attic Home Page